Dedication

Standard

121

Yesterday my 14-year old competed in the 2A Virginia State Championship for Cross Country. It’s the first time since 2005 the girls’ team has even made it to state. They finished fifth overall. A GREAT race in 36 degree weather with the wind blowing non-stop.

The dedication of these kids is amazing. Personally, I really don’t like to run. I find it boring, time consuming and with nothing to show for it in the end. On the other hand, my daughter has opened my eyes to all the great things it can be. She is in great physical shape (yes, I could use that….). She has made wonderful friends that share her same values for pride in self and confidence (these are really good kids!). And running is a big part of her social life, with her friends along side her. They can actually talk and run at the same time (a real challenge for me!).

My daughter reminds me every day that if you set your mind on something, it can be accomplished. I am so fortunate to have this constant reminder in my life to never give up, never give in, and to be dedicated to what you want in life.

Please take note of those high school kids that ran in 36 degree weather yesterday to finish what they started when they joined the team. And to those crazy parents that drove 3 hours to watch their children leave the start line and arrive at the finish 19-25 minutes later. True dedication!

via Dawn Parker Brotherton.

217

Leave a Reply

